Inspired by Pip Lincolne and her #52lists I decided to jot down, in no particular order…

Things that made my March magical.

1. Quitting my day job.  More on this soon.

2. The Port Fairy Folk Festival – sleeping on the lounge floor in a house full of people who’ve known me since birth, and sharing a weekend choc full of music, in a picture perfect setting with flawless weather.  Woke to waves.  Swam solo.  And now my 4yo son makes up his own folk songs absentmindedly while travelling in the car.  Melts me.

3. Clare Bowditch – and her Big Hearted Business conference where I found my peeps, learned to appreciate being a multi-passionate-sensitive-creative-type, and was flooded with inspiration.  Clare’s joyous new album “The Winter I Chose Happiness” is helping me hold on to this feeling.

4. Making lasagne from scratch.  In fact, did quite a bit of baking.  None of it more satisfying than cooking for two mum’s with new babies.

5. Reading a book from cover to cover in a weekend.  Catherine Deveny’s “The Happiness Show” is a fabulous romp of a read with a truly satisfying ending.  She toys with relationship taboo’s and left-behind love.  And she made me laugh lots.

6. Chitty Chitty Bang Bang – My 4yo son has been singing a medley of these tunes since we saw the show so beautifully staged.  A magic, floating, flying car that runs on manners.  Just gorgeous!

7. Sleep – I nodded off mid Endota massage for the first time ever.  Bliss.

8. Christening the newly renovated home of treasured friends – with slow roasted pork belly and stone-fruit tart cooked simultaneously in new twin ovens.  Oh how I love friends who can create beautiful spaces and love entertaining.

9. Hanging washing – My younger self would never have believed this could be true.  But hanging washing means the sun is shining, I am hearing birds in my backyard, and my boys are in their sandpit where their shouting is much less deafening.

10. Family photos – Nobody likes having their photo taken, but everyone loves a good photo of themselves.  The gorgeous Angie Baxter created a collage for my hallway which beautifully captured the four of us happy together.

11. Dying eggs and making pom-poms with the kids – We decorated our Easter holiday cabin.  Handling a ball of wool took me straight back to the craft project basket Mum used to keep by the telephone desk which I was little.

12. Being celebrant for a beautiful wedding in Daylesford.  He is an Australian Youth Ambassador and she is an aid worker.  The world is a better place for their union.  The bride, groom, ceremony and reception at Frangos & Frangos were stunning!

13. Showers – long, hot and uninterrupted every Tuesday.  I did not appreciate this utter luxury until four years ago when motherhood saw it cease.

14. Playing on a jumping pillow with 4yo Declan, who broke his femur doing just that last year.  His joy and my relief made for a perfect play date.

15. Cheeky 3pm wine and cheese with good friends on a sunny Easter Sunday.

16. Mid-day cinema date with a long neglected girlfriend.  New friends are fun, but the perspective of someone who has known you through multiple boyfriends, career moves, fads and failures is solid gold.

17. Joining the gym… and eating almost my body weight in Cadbury eggs.

18. Painted toenails and yellow sandals – scream sunny days and leisure time every time I look down.

19. Cuddles with one of the newest additions to our chosen family, baby Mia.

20. My 1yo son’s first Easter egg hunt and watching his chubby fingers delicately unwrap mini-eggs.

Tell me, what are you doing that makes you happy?

